Trip Advisor

5 out of 5

Posted November , 2018 –  Heather,U.K.

Fantastic Place – we didn’t want to leave

We stayed at Tarlton’s lodge as part of a longer three week trip.It was the perfect place to relax and unwind.

We arrived quite early in the day and were welcomed by Peter. Fortunately the room was ready and we were able to check in with no additional charge.

The minute we saw our room you could tell Tarlton’s Lodge was run by Peter and his wife Katalina with love and care for their guests.

The accommodation was spotless; furnished with a stylish and homely style. Touches like fresh milk and home made cookies just added and extra something.

But the star of the accommodation is the view. The perfect place to relax in our private hot tub, sip wine on the terrace whilst looking at the stars.

A perfectly romantic place under the care of Peter abs Katalina.

We can’t wait to go back!

Trip Advisor

5 out of 5

Posted November , 2018 –  Flyer

Honeymoon Experience

This was the second-best highlight of our trip to New Zealand! The first, was Peter’s (owner of Talton’s) insistence we do the Bay of Islands Ferry Tour! My breakfast was delightful and the view was absolutely breathtaking! Thank you Peter and Katalina!

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted November 22, 2018 Kym , Australia

Perfect

Absolutely loved this place - faultless

Staff 10.0 / Cleanliness 10.0 / Location 10.0 / Comfort 10.0 / Facilities 10.0 /Value for money 10.0

Booking.com

8.8

Posted November 12, 2018 Michel , Quebec (CA)

Staff 10.0 / Cleanliness 10.0 / Location 7.5 / Comfort 10.0 / Value for money 5.0

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted – No date by Anonymous

Very good

Very good view, good facilities, excellent breakfast, owner is warm and kind.

Staff 10.0 / Cleanliness 10.0 / Location 10.0 / Comfort 10.0 /  Facilities 10.0 / Value for money 10.0

 

Jackie Day, CPA, CA

Email November 3, 2018 

Hi Peter and Katalina,

Thanks again for such a wonderful launch to our NZ adventure!

Peter, about the detour you suggested today…we did come across Sandy Bay which was perfect stop for a beach walk.  We did take another detour and ended up at Pakiri beach, spectacular!!! 

We’ve arrived at Plume Villas near Matakana.      They look to be brand new and are lovely but they don’t have the personal touch.  Bill is missing his cookies :-)!

Anyway, thanks again for such a great stay, hopefully one day our paths will cross again.

 Take care,

Jackie & Bill

Booking.com

10.0

Posted October 24, 2018 – Margarette, NZ

We loved the view so much! Amazing location over looking Paihia and Russell. Clean and tidy. Spacious rooms. Comfy bed and breakfast by the patio in the morning. Most of all, the hot tub! Amazing! The hosts were so nice and accommodating. They really go out of their way to make sure that you’re looked after and make sure that you’ve got everything you need. Lovely couple with a very interesting love story. Worth a drink and a chat if you have time :)

Staff 10.0 / Cleanliness 10.0 / Location 10.0 / Comfort 10.0 / Value for money 10.0

Coffee 7.5 / Room View 10.0

Reply:  Sorry the coffee wasn’t up to your expectations.  We serve Italian style drip Caffe Aurora Medaglia D’oro and use a plunger style coffee maker. 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted October 23, 2018 – Maia, NZ10.0

The Host were amazing and polite. So friendly and the food was amazing! Definitely a must see place.

Staff 10.0 / Cleanliness 10.0 / Location 10.0 /  Facilities 10.0 / Comfort 10.0 / Value for money 10.0

Booking.com

10.0

Posted October 21, 2018 – Paul, NZ

Incredible place!!! Will return very soon. Very welcoming and relaxing place to stay!

The whole experience, what a beautiful place! The views were amazing. Very private and the private spa was just perfect!

There was absolutely nothing I didn’t like!

Staff 10.0 / Cleanliness 10.0 / Location 10.0 /  Facilities 10.0 / Comfort 10.0 / Value for money 10.0

Booking.com

10.0

Posted Anonymously

This is a one of it's kind experience.. if you are looking for something with that Midas touch this is it...from the delicious breakfasts..to the stunning views..to the private spa and the superb hosts... you are guaranteed to enjoy your stay here.. close to all amenities yet nestled away from it all. The best part is leaving knowing you have truly experienced something very special.

That I couldn't stay longer!!!

Staff 10.0 / Cleanliness 10.0 / Location 10.0 /  Facilities 10.0 / Comfort 10.0 / Value for money 10.0

Booking.com

7.9

Posted June 28, 2018 – Emma, NZ

Excellent stay - thoroughly recommend it

Amazing space for visitors - separate from the hosts home but they are there if required. The deck with bar table to eat, and the spa overlooking the bay and giving the most incredible views is somewhere you could sit for hours

No downside to this accommodation

Trip Advisor

10 out of 5

Posted May 30, 2018 –  Jose & Sandra, Germany

The view, the landscape, nature..5 from 5...service, hospitality ? 10 from 5

Sure my headline is mathematical nonsense, but a) I don't care and b) never been good at maths.
So to make a long Story short: If you, like we did, decide to spend a few days in the bay of Islands area of New Zealand then we can only recommend Tarltons Lodge.
Sure nature, views and landscapes are important but your experience heavily depends on how your stay at your lodge/Hotel etc works out.
And Boy was it good.
Arriving at Tarltons we were welcomed by the host Peter, his wife Katalina and their daughter Natasha.
Peter introduced us to all things to see and do in the area and handed us a catalogue with maps, Flyers etc.
So we were all set for exploring.
Breakfast Service was exceptional...unfortunately I wasn't able to get a taste of Katalina's famous French toast but my girlfriend did and she absolutely loved it.
I wasn't able to get a taste because of some stomach issues I got after eating out in a Restaurant in the area.
Which leads me to the 10 out of 5 Service:
Peter offered to take me to a doctor and gave me some medicine. And luckily the medicine was good enough to solve my Problems.
But then an even bigger Problem occurred: nature.
A summer storm haunted the area and lead to an power outage, which also hit Tarltons Lodge.
But still Peter and his Family did everything in their power to make the stay an enjoyable one. They even got us coffee for breakfast from some place in town because even the coffee machine didn't work.
So thanks to Peter and his Family...even the downs were nullified by the hospitality and if we come back we will definitely stay there again. :
Kind regards
Jose & Sandra from Germany

Booking.com

10.0

Posted May 23, 2018  - Jonathan, (GB)

The owners of the property were really friendly and helpful and the room was immaculate, with stunning views

Would have preferred the hot tub and balcony area to be more private and segregated better from other rooms

Booking.com

10.0

Posted April 24, 2018 - Val, (NZ)

Staff

10 - Cleanilness

10 - Location

10 - Facilties

10 - Comfort

10 - Value for Money

10 - WiFi

Expedia

5 out of 5 by Anonymous on Expedia

Posted Apr 16, 2018

 Worth the price

We stayed here one night on a last minute reservation. Great room and nice helpful people. The location is away from town but the view is spectacular.

Expedia

5 out of 5  by Shelly on Wotif

Posted Apr 15, 2018

A stay here is highly recommended!

Pros: Everything was perfect, Clean, Spotless, Warm and friendly welcome.

Cons: Nothing at all, It was paradise!

Waking up in paradise, Was definitely what we got! We had absolutely stunning views from our room, from in the room to the spa the views made it extra special not to mention the lovely breakfast watching the sunrise, PRICELESS. The room was so spacious and spotlessly clean. The family looking after us were so lovely.

TripAdvisor

Posted April 14, 2018

Reviewed by Anteak, Switzerland
Wir haben fast am Ende unserer viermonatigen Weltreise zwei Nächte in der Tarlton‘s lodge verbracht und wir haben es in vollen Zügen genossen. Wir wurden sehr herzlich von Natasha empfangen und der Spa war vorgeheizt. Wir haben den Pool beide Abende benutzt und konnten uns kaum satt sehen an der schönen Aussicht. Das Bett war sehr bequem und wir haben wunderbar geschlafen. Das Frühstück war mit viel Liebe zubereitet und wurde auf der Terasse serviert. Das einzige, was wir anmerken wollen: man ist nicht ganz privat auf der Terasse, da sie nicht komplett getrennt ist von den anderen Zimmern. Uns hat es aber nicht gross gestört.

Almost at the end of our four-month trip around the world, we spent two nights in Tarlton's lodge and enjoyed it to the fullest. We were warmly welcomed by Natasha and the spa was preheated. We used the pool both evenings and could barely get enough of the beautiful view. The bed was very comfortable and we slept wonderfully. The breakfast was prepared with love and was served on the terrace.

The only thing we want to say: it is not completely private on the terrace, as it is not completely separate from the other rooms. But it did not bother us much.

 Booking.com

9.2 out of 10

Posted April 13, 2018,  by Gillian, Australia

Beautiful views, good brekky, peaceful

TripAdvisor

Posted April 10, 2018

Reviewed by Chri H, Harrowgate, U.K.

Best Stay Ever

Stayed as the last part of our tour of New Zealand and it was just fabulous!!. The most amazing location and view you could wish for. The host as were just so nice and welcoming, great hot tub with an ocean view. Breakfast served on our own balcony. If you want a nice luxurious stay with an amazing view then look no further!.

April 2018 – travelled as a couple

25 March 2018

We have had a busy season this year, meeting lots of interesting travelers from all over the world:  France, Germany, Denmark, Finland, England, Scotland, Italy, Switzerland, Romania, Ukraine, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, India, South Africa, from all over the USA & Canada; locals from New Zealand and Australians from across the Tasman, ....all with interesting stories to tell. 

After the first night's rest, following breakfast on the terrace fronting their room, many of our guests tell us they wished they could have stayed longer.    After their hectic and often stressful time transitioning from an overseas  flight  to a car rental including the drive up from Auckland or further: Rotorua, or Tauranga, the peace and quiet and the overwhelming sea & island view from their room at Tarltons Lodge is just what they need to fully relax.  During the height of the season we are nearly  fully booked, so if you are booking for next season, keep in mind  you might wish you had booked an extra day or two.  

We go out of our way to ensure our guests enjoy their visit to the Bay of Islands and while here, feel like Tarltons Lodge is their home away from home. The degree of our success is measured in our guest’s reviews.  These reviews, pasted below,  you can find on Trip      Advisor, Booking.com and Expedia.

TripAdvisor

Posted March 24, 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was amazing!
Peter and Katalina are perfect hosts and have a perfect spot in the Bay of Islands.
It is nice and relaxing, away from the main road so very quiet, but still close enough to walk to town in only 10 minutes.
Thanks for the lovely stay!

 

TripAdvisor

Posted March 23, 2018

Incredible views, room and gorgeous breakfast

We had the best time @ Tarlton's Lodge, Peter and Catalina were very good hosts, with lots of info and suggestions available. The room with en-suite has a direct view to the bay, you just step on your patio and there's an amazing view waiting. Extremely clean, attention to details and a great breakfast provided. A place you really look forward to return to at the end of a sightseeing day and that invites you to be a bit lazy in the morning - the view from the bed could justify just that. Thank you Peter and Catalina, we had a great stay.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple

 

TripAdvisor

Posted March 15, 2018 

Reviewed by Liz P

Breath-taking view

Arrived late afternoon to be greeted by a beautiful Vista of the Bay that was only surpassed by sunrise. The accommodation is very comfortable and luxurious. The host was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Fresh fruit for the room was in abundance and the breakfast was delicious.   Should have booked for longer.

 

TripAdvisor

Posted March 14, 2018 

Reviewed by Karen D

GREAT END TO OUR HOLIDAY IN NEW ZEALAND

This was a lovely place to stay. The views are even better than in the photographs. Peace and quiet but still close to town. There is a steep hill to climb to the property but it’s easy to drive up and the views are worth it. There are only three rooms each with beautiful views. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly. We particularly appreciated it that when our flight from Blenheim was delayed which meant we did not arrive until almost midnight Peter was very understanding and waited up to let us in. There was a good choice of delicious breakfasts and the property was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We would not hesitate to highly recommend a stay here.

 

TripAdvisor

Posted March 11, 2018 

Reviewed by amandammooy

TARLTONS LODGE WAS THE MOST AMAZING PLACE TO STAY FOR MY DAUGHTER AND I. THE HOSTS WERE SO GENEROUS AND WARM

The room was fabulous with a view overlooking Russell and the Bay of Islands. Breakfast was love on a table. So beautifully presented and tasted fabulous. The room was cleaned each day and spa was sparkling clean. My daughter Poppy and I would go back tomorrow and really wished we had more time to stay longer. The bed was the best. King sized and so comfortable. 10 out of 10

 

Booking.com

10.0 of 10.0

Posted March 11, 2018  by Jessica

Staff 10.0

Facilities 10.0

Cleanliness 10.0

Comfort 10.0

Location 10.0

Value for money 10.0

 

TripAdvisor

Posted March 8, 2018 

Reviewed by CalgaryDiana

HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP TO NEW ZEALAND

Peter and Katalina were perfect hosts that made us feel at home immediately! We had an amazing 5 night stay in one of their beautiful ocean view suites. The room is gorgeous and the outside space with the hot tub is fantastic! Absolutely spotless! They gave us so many great tips about the surrounding area for sightseeing, restaurants, tours etc. The Bay of Islands is a must see and this place is a must Stay!

 

TripAdvisor

Posted March 7, 2018

AMAZING PLACE

We couldn’t fault our stay here. Amazing views, very friendly hosts. Breakfast is included with you stay, and any choice you make they are all delicious, especially the French toast!! You can enjoy a private spa on your deck overlooking the harbour. Would recommend to anyone.

 

TripAdvisor

Posted March 1st, 2018 

Delightful

Lovely secluded spot up above Paihia with great views. Peter and Katalina couldn't have been more helpful . Yummy breakfast. Certainly worth a visit... If I was really picky maybe the decor could be refreshed with some light modern hints. Having said that it was a great stay.

 

Expedia

5.0 / 5.0  Posted February 28, 2018  by Liz, Melbourne, Australia

Excellence in the beautiful Bay of Islands

Amazing views overlooking Bay of Islands. Very friendly, knowledgable, helpful staff. Great room with private spa overlooking the Bay. Walking distance, although steep hill to shops, restaurants (amazing choices), didn't use my car the whole time that staying there. Breakfast provided was excellent. So many activity choices.

Location, views, room and spa and friendly staff.

Nil suggestion.

First class location and view. So many activities, I went on cruise, I went walking/running and kayaking. Restaurants close by were amazing.

 

TripAdvisor

Posted February 27, 2018  by Debra & Steve, UK

WOW!

Well where can I start. We had a lovely time staying at Tarlton Lodge. Peter, Katalina and Ron went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic. The room was lovely and the view exceptional. The breakfast was out of this world especially the lovely fruit that Peter and Katalina brought to our room every morning. Nothing was too much trouble for them and if ever we go to the Bay of Islands again we will be sure to pay them a visit. We also got to meet thier daughter Natasha and adorable granddaughter Indie. We wish you lots of success in the future. Much love Debra & Steve UK xx

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful

 

TripAdvisor

Posted February 27, 2018  by Jeffrey E

Great Hosts, Great Views, Great Experience

We stayed at Tarltons the last three nights. The owners were very nice and quite accommodating. Peter was quite helpful with maps to help us find our way. Katalina shared some shopping ideas with my wife. There is a paved road and drive, which is not difficult to negotiate. Each unit has a hot tub, private access, and large room. The view is the best of any B&B we have stayed at, and we have been at many in the UK and US. Great sunrises and sunsets looking down across the bay towards Russell. We give this guest house our highest recommendation. We wish our travel plans would have allowed us to stay longer and we will definitely include this hotel in any future trips to NZ.

 

Booking.com

9.2 out of 10

Posted February 26, 2018,  by Amy, New Zealand

BEST FRENCH TOAST EVER

Not much to improve on, the place was a gorgeous little slice of paradise tucked away. Pretty much happy with everything. Super friendly hosts, gorgeous room with a stunning view, and the French toast was the best I've ever had!   Were made to feel very welcome and we look forward to returning again, hopefully for a longer stay next time!

TripAdvisor

Posted February 24, 2018  by Gavin C, Brisbane, Australia

Fabulous View

We had 3 nights after an Antarctic cruise from Ushuaia. Lodge owners very accommodating and helpful. Memorable. Room very tastefully decorated. Excellent breakfast served each morning on the balcony. View from the room and balcony a treat. Lodge is a few minutes drive from the town, but is walkable.

Room Tip: All 3 room have the same view

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple

 

Booking.com

10.0 out of 10.0

Posted February 23, 2018  by Karen, (CL)

Excelente lugar

La atención de los dueños es lo más destacable, son muy cálidos y preocupados. Nos dejaban galletitas, al parecer caseras, en la habitación y siempre teníamos agua helada y filtrada. siempre atentos a cualquier cosa que pudiésemos necesitar.

Wonderful place!

The owners are super friendly, friendly and attentive. Breakfast is movie stuff! I do not even need to talk about the view from the room! Amazing !!! All very clean and super organized! Unforgettable time! Many thanks Tarlton's Lodge! Thanks so much guys! We will be back for sure! Newton and Nubia

Expedia

5.0 / 5.0  Posted February 23, 2018  by Tracy, Brisbane, Australia

Fantastic location

Located and sort walk to Paihia, all rooms offer fantastic views. The hosts offer great suggestions for local restaurants as well as the various activities around the Bay of Islands. We had a great 2 days and are still working off the breakfasts!!

Views, breakfasts and great hostsTrips available to islands, Treaty Grounds, great walks and fresh seafood restaurants.

 

Expedia

5.0 / 5.0  Posted February 22, 2018  by A verified traveller

Friendly hotel with fabulous views

A small hotel managed by friendly, helpful owners. A treat.

 

Expedia

5.0 / 5.0  Posted February 13, 2018  by Jerry, Placitas

Beautiful view of the bay

We spent three days at Tarlton's Lodge and couldn't be happier with our choice. If you want a peaceful setting, a beautiful view of the bay, a private hot tub and breakfast on your private patio, do yourself a favor and stay here. Peter and Kathalena are wonderful and attentive hosts.

The location sitting high above the bay has commanding views.

Can't think of a negative thing.

The hosts have plenty of recommendations for things to do and to see as well as good restaurant recommendations.

 

Expedia

5.0 / 5.0  Posted February 4, 2018  by Anne

Excellent

Great hosts and delicious breakfast

 

Booking.com

10.0 out of 10.0

Posted February 12, 2018 Newton, (NZ)

Everything is awesome!

One of the best places to enjoy your weekend or your holiday. Amazing view from the room with spa. Amazing breakfast! And the owners are so nice! Thanks Tarltons Lodge!

TripAdvisor

Posted February 1, 2018

A Slice of Paradise

Stunning views, peaceful romantic setting, very helpful hosts, delicious breakfast served to order and easy access to town but out of the hustle and bustle. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms have equally beautiful views and their own jacuzzis. I would stay in any of the rooms...

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple

TripAdvisor

Posted January 21, 2018

Great hosts

Stayed 3 nights in this upmarket bed and breakfast. Very comfortable room with luxury bathroom , hot tub on private balcony with views to the bay( in good weather!). Access is via a steep hill so not suitable for those with walking difficulties. Peter and Katerina were pleasant and helpful hosts
Breakfasts were fabulous but a later time than 8.30 would have made them even more so! A very small criticism - so minor it doesn’t affect my rating- is that a Continental breakfast should include bread/ croissants. Not that I needed it as my fruit etc were more than sufficient and delicious.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple

TripAdvisor

Posted January 19, 2018

"Perfect End to our Vacation!"

Reviewed by Cory M

My wife Jennifer and I stayed at Tarlton's for two nights at the end of a long 3 week vacation. You could not ask for a better place to stay and nicer people to deal with. Peter and Katalina were so helpful during our stay and so accommodating. The view is spectacular and the rooms are very elegant and comfortable. Private breakfast served on your patio is the perfect way to start the day and you absolutely MUST try the french toast!! We would highly recommend this resort to others! 

Room Tip: Bring your swimsuit - Private hot tub on your balcony!

Booking.com

10 out of 10

Posted January 14, 2018,  by David, UK

Exceptional

Breakfast was delivered every morning to the deck outside our bedroom

 

TripAdvisor

Posted January 12, 2018

Room with a great view"

Reviewed by Robert G

We spent 11 very relaxing days and nights around Xmas time at Tarlton Lodge. The views across Waikare Inlet and towards Paihia harbour are superb. One morning Peter pointed out a pod of orcas (killer whales) herding manta rays up Waikare Inlet. A unique and magnificent sight, just as we were enjoying one of Katalina's delicious breakfasts. We just thoroughly enjoyed our stay and socializing with Peter and Katalina (and their family at Xmas time). They are very hospitable and a great source of information on the Bay of Islands as well as the maritime history of exploration of the islands of Oceania, especially by Cook (on which Peter is an expert). Thank you Peter and Katalina

TripAdvisor

Posted December 27, 2017

"50th wedding anniversary"

Reviewed by 841leonm

All those years ago we "tied the knot" and were looking for somewhere to celebrate the event. One of our our daughters suggested Tarlton's Lodge. The Internet seemed to suggest that it could be a good idea---and we were not disappointed. The unit, view out over the Bay of Islands, the spa and breakfast were tops. Pierre's welcome was very genuine and helpful; thank you for your graciousness.

TripAdvisor

Posted December 26, 2017

"Excellent accommodations from two great people!"

Reviewed by Joss S

We spent three nights in Paihia, and stayed at Tarlton's Lodge. We arrived early, and the owners Peter and Katalina were incredibly accommodating. They showed us around the building, and gave us maps and contacts for things to do in Paihia. The rooms were excellent, and the views incredible. We had a private hot tub for our use overlooking the ocean. Tarlton's Lodge is a short 10 minute walk from downtown Paihia. We left our car parked the entire time and walked to the beach, dinners, and sailboat tour

Expedia

Posted December 17, 2017

Gorgeous view overlooking the bay

We had a fantastic stay at Tarlton's Lodge! The pictures describe it perfectly; luxury accommodation with a gorgeous view overlooking the bay, and delicious breakfast of your choosing every morning. Peter and Katalina are lovely hosts and made the stay all the more memorable. We highly recommend, and hope to make it back again there soon! Jeff & Kiah

TripAdvisor

Posted December 16, 2017

"Excellent Stay at Tarltons"

Reviewed by bumber14

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tarltons. Very nice accomadation and very hospitable hosts. Outlook over the bay of islandswas just sureal and the French toast is a must for breakfast. Thanks very much

TripAdvisor

Posted December 12, 2017

"Relaxing stay in a beautiful place"

2 weeks agoReviewed by Andjo48

Views from the deck outside the room were breathtaking. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the hot tub on the deck a lovely bonus. It’s a steep walk back up from town but worth it to be in such a peaceful and beautiful position overlooking the bay.

TripAdvisor

Posted December 10, 2017

"Room with a view (and hot tub)"

2 weeks agoReviewed by James W

We stayed at Tarlton's Lodge between 8th and 9th December 2017. The accommodation is hard to fault, nice private rooms with a terrace area with a lovely hot tub to sit back and enjoy the stunning views the property has to offer. The hosts are very welcoming and provide all the information about the area and restaurants in the town which is great when you only have limited time to explore. The place is on the outskirts of Paihia, up on the hill overlooking the bay. Obviously this means a short walk into town which takes about 7mins to the edges and around 15-18 to the central pier area which is no problem at all and is better on the way back to burn off some of the calories from dinner! You would not get the great views if the property was in the middle of town so a short walk to get the blood pumping is small sacrifice for the views from a hot tub. The property has plenty of parking for rental vehicles which we had. Breakfast was included and you have a excellent selection to choose from and all served on your own table on your private terrace. Hope this above review is useful for anyone looking to book accommodation in Paihia and after walking around town and looking at other accommodation options from the roadside we were really happy with our choice and would stay here again. I have only given the location 4 stars as it is on the edge of town (which was not an issue for us at all) but 5 stars would give a false impression that it is on the seafront in Paihia

Agoda

Posted December 8, 2017

“Amazing B&B”

What a stunning property. Great views of the Bay of Islands. Very comfortable room with patio with hot tub and breakfast area. Just perfect.

TripAdvisor

Posted December 6, 2017

"Amazing stay!!"

Reviewed by Kyla B

I stayed here for three nights while on vacation with my boyfriend. It far exceeded our expectations - it was AMAZING. The hosts are so sweet and helpful, but also give you your total space and privacy. The room is nice, with a comfy bed and modern bathroom with a fantastic shower (I’m picky!) The best part is the patio and the VIEW. We got breakfast each morning on our patio, and it was delicious. Listening to the bird and looking out onto the absolutely amazing water and Islands was seriously a dream. And getting in our private hot tub at night when the temps cooled down was EVERYTHING! Staying here was a definite highlight of our trip. Highly recommend!

TripAdvisor

Posted December 5, 2017

Beautiful, relaxing, fun"

Reviewed by KiwiguyNZ

Tarlton's is the perfect place for a bit of relaxation and romance. A lovely room + an amazing view + hot tub + beautiful company = a perfect night. Peter and Katalina are great hosts and provide a lovely breakfast.

TripAdvisor

Posted December 1, 2017

"Perfect accommodation in Paihia"

Reviewed by Joh-HH-NF

Peter and Katalina are the perfect hosts. Very friendly reception in a nice accommodation. Location is very quiet, breakfast is excellent. Peter gives a lot of recommendations. Already on the website you can see that the B & B is run personally. Especially the view a reason to book there.

Expedia

5 out of 5 by Todd

Posted November 27, 2017

Greatest View

Unbelievable stay. Very welcoming and felt at home with great people. Beautiful view and wonderful breakfast. 5 Stars to everything.

Booking.com

10.0

Anna Bradley, (AU)

Exceptional stay in the bay of islands

Great views. The hosts were exceptional and always went out of their way to ensure you were comfortable. The breakfasts were great! Could not fault this stay at all!Booking.com

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted Nov 27, 2017

احمد, (SA)

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted November 11, 2017

Toby, (US)

Perfect 10+

Tarlton's was fantastic! Great location overlooking the bay. Peter and Katalina were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was delicious. I can't say enough positive things about this location. In addition, after I accidentally left my computer in the room, Peter called me immediately and forwarded it to our next stop in Wellington. Thank you for your help and we truly miss this gem of a B&B already

 

Booking.com

10.0

Anonymous

 

Booking.com

10.0

Leightana, (NZ)

Perfect

Our stay at Tarlton's Lodge was amazing, the hosts there were warm and welcoming it was like going to stay with whanau (family). Our room was so clean and comfy, i could have slept in the bed for days. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting our hosts as they took that extra time out to give us a run down on what Paihia had to offer as well as neighboring towns. I would totally recommend this to anyone looking for that extra something in a nights stay. My partner now compares everywhere we go to Tarlton's Lodge and nothing has come close to it yet. We will definitely stay there again next time we are up those ways. Relaxing in the spa with an awesome view is a great way to unwind.

Booking.com

10.0

Anonymous

 

Booking.com

10.0

2017-10-24

Hannah, (NZ)

Great people and service. Highly recommend

Breakfast was lovely. I recommend the French toast!

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted October 10, 2017

Derrick, (NZ)

 

Booking.com

10.0

Anonymous

 

Booking.com

9.2

Posted September 22, 2017

Mike, (NZ)

Very comfortable and great views. Breakfast offerings excellent and tasty. Set us up for the day ahead.

 

Booking.com

9.6

Posted September 19, 2017

Jen, (AU)

Beautiful location to enjoy from your private jacuzzi

Beautiful location, good size room, comfy bed, good food.

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted September 11, 2017

Charlotte and Dale Murray , (NZ)

Million Dollar View with French Toast

The location and our room was beautiful. The owners were so lovely and welcoming. And the breakfast they put on was the best breakfast ever experienced in a hotel. French Toast highly recommended...best ever had. All the little things they added to our stay made it perfect.

Everything was perfect

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted September 10, 2017

Steve and mel, (NZ)

Our little wedding anniversary celebration turned into a memorable experience as we found a beautiful modern and luxurious place to enjoy! We were greeted upon arrival and shown our room. We were taken back by the breath taking views and the comfort of our room. The spa pool that looked out to the Islands and sea was relaxing and exactly what we needed. Delicious breakfasts were provided which were fit for a King and Queen. Thank you so much for hosting us. We look forward to our next stay!

 

Booking.com

9.6

Posted August 28, 2017

Lilly, (NZ)

Perfect!

The view is absolutely stunning. Very private and with your own personal spa it makes for the perfect romantic getaway. The owners were just great. Throughly enjoyed, would definitely stay again.

The parking was a little tricky but not a big deal.

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted June 27, 2017

Scott, (NZ)

Great views and great breakfast.

Spa pool, breakfast and staff  

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted May 22, 2017

Natalie, (NZ)

Beautiful

The amazing views, breakfast and mostly the spa right outside your room. Peter and katalina were awesome to deal with, made us feel at home. Would definitely recommend.

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted April 18, 2017

Ian, (NZ)

Pure Paradise at its Best

We had the most amazing 3 nights. Peter & Kathalena were such lovely hosts & made our stay so welcoming - nothing was a problem. Waking up each day to a wonderful breakfast & enjoying the amazing view to start your day - to relaxing in the spa pool & soaking up the peace & tranquility that Tarltons has to offer. We have travelled quite a bit & we would say this would go down as one of our most favourite places ever. Highly recommend for any couple wishing to have a relaxing time away.

 

Booking.com

10.0

Posted April 8, 2017

john, (CA)

Made us feel special

Friendly owners , great host and awsome meals from taste to presentation . They go all out

 

Booking.com

10.0

2017-04-04

Carolyn, (AU)

Adored our stay and views from Tarlton Lodge

The french toast was scrumptious. I couldnt stop myself from ordering for all 3 breakfasts. The view from each balcony was just amazing. I could sit at the outdoor stools and watch and watch the glorious water and islands. It was so relaxing just sitting back in our own spa pool, overlooking the Bay of Islands.

 

TripAdvisor

PERFECT GETAWAY

 September 22, 2017 Reviewed by jenwatt182

3 nights at Tarltons was the perfect getaway. Visiting the coromandel from Adelaide for a mates 30th, after which we went looking for a place to spend some time together.... Enter Bay of islands / Pahia / Tarltons lodge! Katalina and Peter are lovely, very welcoming & full of tips about what to do in the local area. The rooms were comfortable, very clean & with a private spa looking out over the bay you couldn't go wrong. Breakfast was also spot on each morning...we highly recommend the French toast... Was delicious ;)

 

Booking.com

9.2  /  2017-09-22

Mike, (NZ)

Very comfortable and great views. Breakfast offerings excellent and tasty. Set us up for the day ahead

 

Booking.com
9.6  / 2017-09-20  

Jen, (AU)

Beautiful location to enjoy from your private jacuzzi

Beautiful location, good size room, comfy bed, good food

 

 Booking.com

10.0 / 2017-09-11

Steve and mel, (NZ)

Our little wedding anniversary celebration turned into a memorable experience

Our little wedding anniversary celebration turned into a memorable experience as we found a beautiful modern and luxurious place to enjoy! We were greeted upon arrival and shown our room. We were taken back by the breath taking views and the comfort of our room. The spa pool that looked out to the Islands and sea was relaxing and exactly what we needed. Delicious breakfasts were provided which were fit for a King and Queen. Thank you so much for hosting us. We look forward to our next stay!

 

Booking.com

10.0  /  2017-09-11

Charlotte and Dale Murray , (NZ)

 

TripAdvisor

Million Dollar View with French Toast

The location and our room was beautiful. The owners were so lovely and welcoming. And the breakfast they put on was the best breakfast ever experienced in a hotel. French Toast highly recommended...best ever had. All the little things they added to our stay made it perfect.

Everything was perfect.

 

Booking.com

9.6  -  2017-08-29

Lilly, (NZ)

Perfect!

The view is absolutely stunning. Very private and with your own personal spa it makes for the perfect romantic getaway. The owners were just great. Throughly enjoyed, would definitely stay again.

The parking was a little tricky but not a big deal.

 

TripAdvisor

AMAZING STAY

June 24, 2017

Thank you very much Peter for your hospitality, a fantastic host and what a great breakfast! Very relaxing in an amazing spot with great views. We had a lovely time and will definitely be back, cheers.

 

Booking.com

10.0 / 2017-06-23

Scott, (NZ)

Great views and great breakfast.

Spa pool, breakfast and staff

 

Booking.com

10.0 / 2017-05-22

Natalie, (NZ)

Beautiful

The amazing views, breakfast and mostly the spa right outside your room. Peter and katalina were awesome to deal with, made us feel at home. Would definitely recommend

 

TripAdvisor

AMAZING VIEW

16 May 2017

We really enjoyed this lodge. The lodge is on a hill with a terrific view over the bay and it is very quiet with forest around. It is an easy walk down to the waterfront. Our hosts were terrific - very helpful with finding restaurants and fishing charters: we came as lodgers and left as friends. Highly recommended

 

TripAdvisor

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE

15 May 2017

Had 3 wonderful nights at Tarltons where our hosts Peter and Katalina were a wonderful source of information and assistance. Breakfast was a wonderful treat and an afternoon spa overlooking the Bay of Islands was a suberb ending to a busy day. Perched on a hill overlooking the Bay, it was only a few minutes drive down to numerous restaurants...

TripAdvisor

AMAZING VIEW

11 May 2017

Me & my husband had been for our 2nd anniversary to this place. we had selected room 3 which had a great view. the owner Peter is a warm person he had already made arrangements for the hot jaqucci. he also has a list of restaurants ready for you which is handy. the rooms were very clean with the basic amenities in there. I feel its great for a couple as it doesnt have a microwave or anything if you have a baby with you, but the owner is warm enough to help if needed. the breakfast is included & the breakfast was nicely made with generously loaded with cheese & other goodies. I think it is a bit over priced. but worth the $$ for the excellent view. i would definitely visit this place again

PARADISE AT IT’S BEST

We had the most incredible 3 days at Tarltons Lodge. We were greeted with the most amazing sea view. Waking up & enjoying the most divine breakfasts, sitting on the balcony & soaking up the morning sun & the most beautiful view every day was such luxury. The gorgeous spa pool that each room has was pure paradise & indulgence! The peace & tranquillity was just awesome. The rooms were immaculate & the bed & linen so comfortable. We have stayed in many places around NZ & Africa & this would have to be our favourite. Words cannot express how beautiful this place is - go & see for yourself! Big thank you to Peter & Katalina for making it such a memorable stay.

10.0 - 2017-04-18

Ian, (NZ)

 

Pure Paradise at its Best

We had the most amazing 3 nights. Peter & Kathalena were such lovely hosts & made our stay so welcoming - nothing was a problem. Waking up each day to a wonderful breakfast & enjoying the amazing view to start your day - to relaxing in the spa pool & soaking up the peace & tranquility that Tarltons has to offer. We have travelled quite a bit & we would say this would go down as one of our most favourite places ever. Highly recommend for any couple wishing to have a relaxing time away

 

AN AMAZING STAY EVEN IN BAD WEATHER

In March 2017, my partner and I stayed at Tarlton's Lodge for two nights. What a lovely place with fantastic views. Peter and Katalina could not be more helpful in making our stay comfortable. The weather wasn't so nice. So much rain but that did not dampen our stay. The first morning's breakfast was lovely, sitting out on the veranda enjoying the view. Unfortunately, the weather served us a poor start to the second morning. Peter and Katilina took the weather in their stride and serve breakfast upstairs with the other guest. Great conversations and a yummy breakfast to start the day.
When in Paihia again, we will certainly be staying at Tarlton's Lodge and hopefully the weather gods will be nice to us.

Room Tip: All rooms are downstairs with great views

 

“SIMPLY THE BEST! RELAXING, RESTED AND THOROUGHLY SPOILT!"

Thank you, Peter, and Katilina for being such wonderful hosts. Our room was as beautiful as the view, and we came home feeling relaxed and thoroughly spoilt. We compliment you on those delicious breakfasts served on our balcony each morning, what an awesome way to start the day! Our memories of our stay at Tarltons Lodge will long re-visited in the months ahead. We couldn't recommend the Tarltons more highly and we look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Beautiful Views, Tranquil and Peaceful setting.

 

TripAdvisor

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple

“WHAT A HIGHLIGHT!”

We recently spent 2 nights at Tarltons Lodge and both agreed it was the best accommodation we had on our holiday in New Zealand. Luxurious is the word - from the beautifully appointed room with a glorious view to the delicious breakfast served on the terrace, the welcome hot tub after a long day's driving and to top it off the softest sheets we've ever slept in. (If only I could buy some!) Peter and Katalina were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. Thoroughly recommended.

 

TripAdvisor

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple

“A B&B WITH A WOW-FACTOR!

At the end of our long journey around NZ we stayed for 4 nights at this extraordinary B&B and enjoyed every single minute. The location high above a private beach and the views to the Bay of Islands are spectacular. Having such a delicious served breakfast on the terrace and watching the boats which are leaving the safe bay in front of the rising sun is as well impressive as sitting at night in the hot pool with a glass of champagne and counting the millions of stars. You could remain there all day and night, if there were no other things to do in this area.

We spent much more time in the apartment than initially intended also of its triple ‚C'’: it is very comfortable, cosy and clean. Laying on the bed and looking through the wide-opended terrace door to the calm sea is the ideal therapy to become totally relaxed. Nowhere else you can do it better.

Peter and Katalina are great hosts, very attentive and helpful. One night they invited us for dinner and gave us the opportunity both to learn a lot of their interesting backgrounds and get to know the other guests. We had an unforgettable evening, enjoyed Katarina’s delicious seafood platter and Peter’s BBQ-chicken wings and laughed a lot.

We are both keen golfers and like to stay in exclusive B&Bs like Tarlton’s Lodge. We reached Waitangi Golf in less than 10 minutes and the world-famous Kauri Cliffs Golf Course at Matauri Bay in about 45 minutes. After a once in a lifetime round of golf we returned to Peter and Katalina and were very happy to be accommodated in this wonderful nest at an appropriate prize.

Tarlton’s Lodge totally fulfilled our expectations. We highly recommend it and we would be very happy to meet this awesome couple again.


TripAdvisor
Cologne, Germany, March 28th, 2017

“EXCELLENT SEJOUR A PAIHIA”

Après 50 jours de voyage en Nouvelle-Zélande, notre Top personnel. Accueil très chaleureux par Katalina et Peter, lesquels nous ont fait passer un agréable séjour. Très belle chambre avec terrasse et spa, avec une vue magnifique sur la baie. Délicieux choix de petits-déjeuners servis sur la terrasse personnelle.

(After 50 days of traveling in New Zealand, our staff Top. Very warm welcome by Katalina and Peter, which made us a pleasant stay. Very nice room with terrace and spa, with a magnificent view of the bay. Delicious choice of breakfast served on the private terrace.)

 

TripAdvisor

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple

“NICE STAY”

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Tarltons and really enjoyed it. The view is excellent and the room is clean, modern, and well appointed. The spas are clean and nice also with good views.
Did I say something about the breakfasts? Oh yeah, they are great
Peter and Katalina are warm and friendly hosts.
Great choice for a stay in Paihia

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple

 

“TripAdvisor

YOU HAVE TO SEE TO BELEIVE”

Well, we read about this place here on Trip Advisor, but it turns out one has to see it and the folks that run it to believe it. Picture the most modern, best sized and appointed hotel room you ever stayed in, throw in a deck with a hot tub, a 180-degree view of a wonderful seascape and well, you get the idea. But that’s only about half of the deal. The other half is Katalina and Peter, the folks that will take care of you and take care of you they will. Wonderful breakfasts in the morning served within a couple of minutes of when you indicate and know ledge of all there is to see and do ion the area shared most willingly by these two kind and caring people. How caring? One night Katalina cooked dinner so she could get to know us all (three rooms of people only) better. Just amazing. Going to book somewhere else in this area? Our opinion: You are going to miss something really special!

Room Tip: All rooms great with same view and hot tub feature

 

TripAdvisor

Reviewed 6 March 2017

“PETER & KATALINA – OUTSTANDING HOSTS!”

Our stay at Tarltons in early February was beyond excellent. Peter and Katalina are most welcoming and were very helpful in recommending restaurants, activities and even assisted us to arrange a needed medical visit. Our room was spotless, comfortable and spacious with lovely linens. We enjoyed Katalina's excellent breakfasts each morning on our patio that has an exceptional view of the Bay of Islands. We stayed for 4 days and didn't want to leave! Be sure to ask Peter about his sailing adventures.

 

TripAdvisor

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple

“REALLY BEAUTIFULL”

Location, location, location....... The Tarlton's Lodge is high on a hill covered in exotic gardens overlooking the water. The rooms are well appointed, very clean, and the view is spectacular. Peter and Katalina are exceptional hosts that will ensure your stay in the Bay of Islands is great experience.

 

TripAdvisor

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple

 

EXPEDIA REVIEW

Beautiful view of the bay

Posted Feb 13, 2017

Pros: The location sitting high above the bay has commanding views.

Cons: Can't think of a thing.

Location: The hosts have plenty of recommendations for things to do and to see as well as good restaurant recommendations.

We spent three days at Tarlton's Lodge and couldn't be happier with our choice. If you want a peaceful setting, a beautiful view of the bay, a private hot tub and breakfast on your private patio, do yourself a favor and stay here. Peter and Kathalena are wonderful and attentive hosts.

 

TripAdvisor

REALLY BEAUTIFUL

My wife and I stayed at Tarlton's Lodge for 3 nights and it was absolutely wonderful. Peter and Katalina are very friendly and helpful with a lot of good tips on what to do in Paihia. They have 3 rooms, all with a big terrace and a whirlpool on it - the view from there was absolutely amazing. Breakfast also was very very delicious - you could choose out of 4! options - and was also served on your private terrace.
We can highly recommend this place.

Stayed February 2017, posted February 12, travelled as a couple

 

TripAdvisor

EXCEPTIONAL STAY

Everything about this place was perfect, from the friendly and helpful staff, to the home cooked breakfast every morning, the bed, the shower and the spa over looking the bay!!
We stayed for a total of three nights here and wish we could of stayed longer! The lodge is situated a quick drive to the towns centre or a nice walk along the beach to the town.
The people that run this place, Peter and Katalina were the most welcoming, knowledgable and loving people. They were more than happy to sit down and have a chat and tell you the history of bay of islands. They had a wealth of knowledge that assisted us in finding the best places to visit and eat.
Each morning we were served an amazing breakfast from their beautiful menu. In particular their French toast with caramelised bananas and berry compote with maple syrup was Devine. Their attention to the finer detail was not missed and made a real homey feeling to the place. The lodge looked out over the bay which was a real treat to wake up to each morning.
If you're looking for a place to relax and unwind whilst being spoilt for options, this is the place to go.

Posted February 8, 2017, traveled as a couple

 

TripAdvisor

OUR BEST STAY IN NEW ZEALAND

We began our 3 1/2 week driving tour with a 3 night stay at Tarlton's Lodge. As soon as we pulled in, Peter was right there to greet us. We went inside, met Katalina and got settled into our wonderful room with amazing views of the Bay of Islands. We knew we made a great choice right away. Our next couple days were filled with taking in the sights around Pahia and Russell and we always looked forward to returning to our little slice of heaven at Tarlton's. The best breakfasts of the whole trip were made by Katalina (she makes the best French toast!) and served by Peter while we enjoyed the sunshine and views. We also got the chance to spend a little time with them and we were treated like good friends.
We stayed in several very nice B&B's and hotels during our trip. Our favorite spot was Tarlton's Lodge! Thank you, Peter and Katalina for making our stay so special! Sure wish we weren't so far away, we'd be regulars!

Posted February 9, 2017, Stay January 2017,  travelled as a couple

 

TripAdvisor

WONDERFUL LAST MINUTE BOOKING

Following a flight delay in Hong Kong and an enforced stopover, we had to shift our plans a little and for our middle night stayed here at the last minute over a holiday weekend in NZ. It’s a wonderful place with truly lovely hosts. They have thought of every little detail for the room down to a small bottle of milk for that all important English cup of tea.

We are on a month-long tour of NZ and we couldn't think of a better way to start it.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple

 

TripAdvisor

Reviewed 29 January 2017

“MAGICAL PLACE”

Have only just got around to writing this, actually stayed in December 2015. After spending 2.5 weeks in a campervan this was a welcomed break! We were on our honeymoon and this really was a romantic escape! One of the most amazing views from the room I have ever experienced and the hot tub was wonderful. The hosts were amazing and so friendly. Pahia was a great place - we went on a boat trip and saw Dolphins and Whales, so so fantastic! Could have stayed a week.....or forever! X

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple

TripAdvisor

AMAZING PLACE TO STAY

An amazing place to stay in Paihia with a great view of the Bay from your room. A nice small BnB with a private hot tub, amazing breakfast and the most welcoming hosts.
Do book your stay here in advance as there are only 3 rooms and good places in Paihia fill up quickly in the summer.

February 3, 2017, Reviewed by Apoorv K

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple

 

TripAdvisor

BEST OF BOTH WORLDS

If you combine the luxury of a 5-star hotel room, with the friendly, personal service of a Bed & Breakfast, you get Tarlton's Lodge. It feels like someone has chopped three rooms out of a Shangri-La /Four Seasons hotel and plonked them down on a Paihia hillside. And then found the most welcoming hosts, Peter and Katalina, to make you feel at home.

January 27, 2017 - Reviewed by Karolyn C

 

TripAdvisor

Dear Catalina and Peter,

I hope you are well. Now I am back again over two weeks in the German winter. As promised I will send you some photos of my beautiful time in New Zealand (see link next E-Mail). The time in your lodge was a highlight on my trip and always remains in good memory. I am pleased to meet so nice people. In hope of  a next meeting in NZ, kind regards  from Wuppertal / Germany,
Uli Niekamp

Email Correspondence received January 26, 2017

 

TripAdvisor

COUPLES GETAWAY

We came here for our 1st wedding anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place. Welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable owners. Nice room with an amazing view and private spa too was a nice touch not to mention breakfast delivered every morning. Perfect place for a couple’s getaway. Wouldn't stay anywhere else here now.

Reviewed January 25, 2017  by joshh827

 

TripAdvisor

GREAT B&B

Lovely and comfortable room with a wonderful view across the bay of islands
Good hosts and breakfast laid outside your room every morning.
Good walk along coast down to pahlia or we were offered a lift one morning as we were running late for a trip
Nothing too much trouble.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple

 

TripAdvisor

Sue W, London, United Kingdom

SPECTACULAR VIEW AND MEMORABLE BREAKFAST

We stayed here 2 nights. The view of the bay is fantastic. The owners are very hospitable with good suggestions on local restaurants. If you stay you must order the continental breakfast that is served on your patio and has the most variety of fruit we have ever received with a continental breakfast! Great coffee too! Enjoyed the hot tub and the room was perfect. Highly recommend!

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple

 

TripAdvisor

KathyL Houston, Texas, USA

RUNDHERUM PERFEKT MIT GENIALER AUSSICHT

Schon bei der Ankunft wurde ich von Catalina und Peter herzlich empfangen. Ich bekam das mittlere von drei nebeneinanderliegenden Apartements, welches sich von der Ausstatung hochwertig, modern darstellte (Sauberkeit ist hier selbstverständlich). Die atemberaubende Aussicht auf die Bucht von Paihia ist kaum zu übertreffen, Zudem befindet sich auf dem Balkon jeden Apartements ein Whirlpool, wo die totale Entspannung nach einem ereignisreichen Tag möglich ist. Morgens wurde von Catalina und Peter ein super Frühstück serviert, wobei aus 3 Varianten ausgewählt werden konnte. Rundherum alles perfekt, kann ich diese Unterkunft nur weiterempfehlen.

(Upon arrival I was met by Catalina and Peter warmly. I was the middle of three adjacent apartments, which quality of the Equipment, modern presented itself (cleanliness is a matter of course). The breathtaking view of the bay of Paihia is hard to beat, each addition Apartments is located on the balcony, a jacuzzi, where total relaxation after a busy day is possible. In the morning, a great breakfast was served from Catalina and Peter, being from 3 variants could be selected. All around everything was perfect, I can only recommend this hotel.)

15 January, Stayed December 2016, travelled solo

 

TripAdvisor

January 7, 2017

We stayed in Tarltons Lodge for 3 nights. Having visited Paihia before we were keen to stay somewhere with a view and this place really is as good as it gets! Stunning views from the rooms, beautiful sunrises and far reaching across the bay. The hosts are lovely and very knowledgeable in the area, without being pushy in any way. Breakfast is great, fresh and healthy options. The rooms are super, comfy bed, good showers and space to unpack. Overall we loved this magical place and will be staying here again in future! The best in Paihia in our opinion

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple

Agoda

Posted December 14, 2016

“Very kind and welcoming hosts who would get out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.”

Clean, quality furniture and bedsheets, comfy bed, great view from the room and an amazing spa, possibly the best place to stay in Paihia.

We absolutely loved our stay with Natasha, Peter, and Catalina. This Bnb is run by a local family, and they are absolutely lovely! We wish we had more time to get to know them better. They epitomize the meaning of hospitality and kindness.

We stayed here for our honeymoon, and were provided the ideal combination of attention and privacy. The Bnb is truly one of a kind- the romantic, private, while still local setting on the top of a hill overlooking the ocean is unparalleled.

For the price u pay, which is perhaps equivalent or less than a resort, u get so much more- a private entrance and private hot tub overlooking ur own view of the ocean! We highly recommend Tarlton's Lodge, and want to come back for our anniversary in the future.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AMAZING RETREAT IN PAIHIA

Very kind and welcoming hosts who would get out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Clean, quality furniture and bedsheets, comfy bed, great view from the room and an amazing spa, possibly the best place to stay in Paihia.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

December 3, 2016 Reviewed

Such a great spot to turn off and relax with stunning views. The hosts were so friendly and accomodating without being invasive. Go the French toast option! A spotless luxury stay at a great place.Highly reccommended.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AWESOME VIEW, EXCELLENT HOSTS, WONDERFUL BREAKFASTS

Apart from the fantastic friendly accommodation and sensational view, a hidden gem is the Paihia Opua walkway which winds itself around the coast for a great 2 hour walk. It starts just 10minutes from Tarlton's. In summary the location, view and hospitality rates Tarltons as the best accommodation available.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ROMANTIC HONEYMOON WITH A VIEW

We stayed at the Tarlton's Lodge for 6 nights during our honeymoon and loved every minute of it! All 3 rooms have hot tubs and out of this world views!! The room was clean, comfortable and close to town. Breakfast was included and was set up on our balcony each morning. The food was great; especially the French toast. They even have a private beach a short walk away. The family was very friendly and accommodating with spot on recommendations for restaurants and excursions. We'd highly recommend staying here!

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Best AirBnB

I have stayed in many AirBnbs before and Tarlton's Lodge was definitely the best. The room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. The view was amazing and what's great is it offers something different throughout the day. My boyfriend and I felt so relaxed and rejuvenated after our stay! We were well taken care of by Peter and Katalina without it feeling intrusive. Would strongly recommend anyone looking for an accommodation in Paihia to consider this above other resorts :)

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A PLACE, A VIEW, A PEACE AND LEVEL OF COMFORT NOT TO BE MISSED

We arrived at Tarltons Lodge soon after arriving in New Zealand. What an introduction. Our hosts Peter and Katalina couldn't have been nicer, nor more helpful. They suggested good things for us to do and see based on weather and our personal preferences. We took the Ferry over to Russell one day and walked the town, over the saddle to the ocean and had a fabulous lunch in town. Our mornings were spent on our porch where the Tarlton's served us breakfast as we looked out over the inlet. The view took our breath away! The town of Pahia has a charm of its own. We hope to return one day!

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GREAT HOSTS, GREAT VIEW

Definitely worth staying here, nice host family having interesting talks and hints for sightseeing and restaurants, great view from your room on to the bay, good room and breakfast on your private terrace.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AWESOME VIEW. RELAXING STAY

My fiancee and I spent two nights at Tarltons lodge. Peter and katalina were amazingly welcoming and helpful. They helped us find some great places to eat and how to get around paihia. Only a short walk to the main strip and ferry. Glorious sunrise views and amazing to watch the guy fawks fireworks in Russell across the bay. Great amenities and it was awesome to have a nice relaxing spa at the end of the day. Would define try stay there again.
Thanks Peter and katalina!

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

JUST AS GOOD AS LAST TIME

Reviewed 26 October 2016

This was our second visit to Tarlton's Lodge, and it is still a fabulous place! The location is amazing with fabulous views over the bay, and the service including breakfast on the deck in glorious sunshine is such a treat. Natasha looked after us very well but we missed Dan . We hope to be back before long.

Room Tip: Fantastic views in all 3 rooms

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BEST IN PAIHIA

Big call I know, yet I think you would be hard pressed to find much better.

Great room. Great view. Great bathroom. Great spa. Great bed. Great breakfast... need I go.on?

Very well looked after by Natasha.

We stayed 4 nights for our wedding anniversary in the early part of October. We used Tarltons as a base and did a number of day trips.

Plenty to keep us interested, though we did rack up a few Km on the hire car. There was something particularly exciting about knowing that a private spa was awaiting us at the end of each day.

Plenty of hours were spent resting weary bushwalking legs in the spa, then a good night sleep and up for a great Breakfast delivered to our private veranda.

This place is located close to town, but we found that it was easier to drive down to the foreshore for dinner each night. You could walk, but it's all up-hill from the waterfront.

There are certainly cheaper places to stay, but I felt that the price was fair value for what you got. There is something a bit special about a private room that's not in a hotel complex.

Three units are located beside each other ... each has a small wall that separates each unit .. though it's not fully private as you can look along the veranda and see each of the three spas in a row ... but private enough to enjoy yourself.

Great place to stay, if I ever come back it would definitely be a place I would stop at again.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GORGEOUS VIEWS

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. If we ever come back to Paihia I would definitely stay again. Tash has looked after us really well and made us feel very welcome. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. The breakfasts are lovely and served on your private balcony and the room is beautifully appointed. Great spa on the balcony and when the fog rolls in over the bay it is spectacular. It is incredibly quiet and a short walk to town (although walking back is up quite a steep hill which is difficult if you're as unfit as me). Tash even offered to pick us up from town if we needed although a cab would be very inexpensive.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BOOKING.COM REVIEWS

  • “…We liked the extremely friendly host and hostess, lovely room with a stunning view and a totally delicious breakfast all set up on the table outside your room before you even woke up…”

  • “…Breakfast was really great and tasty and such kindhearted owners…”

  • “…Cooked breakfast in the morning…”

  • “…Staff were very polite - Natasha made us feel so welcome and the breakfast was delicious…”

  • “…Et on peut vraiment en profiter, que ce soit dans le jacuzzi ou en savourant le délicieux petit-déjeuner…”

  • “…Nos hôtes étaient si adorable aux petits soins les petits déjeuner fait maison succulent…”

  • “…Le +++ : le spa sur le balcon, le petit dejeuner sur le balcon au soleil le matin, nos hôtes…”

    “Great views. Nice relaxing and private location close enough to town” November 8, 2016 – Andrew (NZ)

    “Spa with a view to die for. Breakfast was really great and tasty and such kindhearted owners” November 22, 2016 -  Stijn, (Netherlands)

    “Nice room with a great view of the whole bay, perfect for sitting in the hot tub and relaxing”  December 2, 2016 – Daniel (Australia)

    “C'est simple absolument tout. Chambre magnifique dans une maison splendide face à la bay of island! Nos hôtes étaient si adorable aux petits soins les petits déjeuner fait maison succulent! Encore merci pour votre accueil nous avons passé 2 jours parfait! Le +++ : le spa sur le balcon, le petit dejeuner sur le balcon au soleil le matin, nos hôtes” December 10, 2015 Jacques (France)

    ["C & #39; is simple absolutely everything." Beautiful room in a splendid House facing the bay of island! Our hosts were so sweet caring small succulent home made breakfast! Thanks again for your home we spent 2 days perfect! "The +++: the spa on the balcony, breakfast on the balcony in the Sun in the morning, our guests" December 10, 2015 Jacques (France)]

    “Les propriétaires sont vraiment accueillants et très serviables. Ils prennent le temps pour donner des conseils de visites ou de restos. J'ai aussi eu besoin d'un médecin et Peter à pris RV pour moi. La vue de la terrasse est magnifique. Et on peut vraiment en profiter, que ce soit dans le jacuzzi ou en savourant le délicieux petit-déjeuner.”  December 12, 2016  Mathvds, (Belgium)

    ["The owners are really friendly and very helpful. They take the time to give advice to visits or restaurants. J & #39; also had need d & #39; a doctor and Peter to take RV for me. The view from the terrace is beautiful. And you can really enjoy it, whether in the hot tub or breakfast is delicious. " December 12, 2016 Mathvds, (Belgium)]

    “The host lovely. The view wonderful”  January 9, 2017  Dale NZ

    “We liked the extremely friendly host and hostess, lovely room with a stunning view and a totally delicious breakfast all set up on the table outside your room before you even woke up. Oh and we had our own beautiful spa pool which was spotlessly clean!!!”   January 2, 2017  Simone NZ

    “The breakfast was amazing. A bonus having the spa pool right outside your bedroom. The owners are truely lovely and very helpful.”  January 17, 2017 tony and judy, (NZ)

    “Awesome owners. Made us feel very welcome. Breakfasts great.” January 16, 2017. Krista NZ

    “Excellent hosts, the room was very private with a separate entrance. All the little extras - toiletries etc were first class. Well recommended.” January 10, 2017  Katrina NZ

    “2nd time here and we will be back. Great location and views, wonderful friendly but unobtrusive staff, excellent location and breakfast” January 15, 2017 Katrina NZ